Channa Mereya.. How it became one of my all time favourite songs. 

Nishchay Playing Live.

Few days back,  I performed with my band  Nishchay at Rishikesh Art and Film Festival, 2017.

We played a set of songs. And I must tell you that being live is the best feeling possible for a musician. Personally, I love all the songs we perform but the one I loved the most during that show was Channa mereya from movie ADHM. 

I’ve been in love with this song since the first time I listened to it. The lyrics are beautiful, the music is soothing , vocals are soulful enough to make you remember your heartbreaks. So in brief, it has every ingredeint perfectly mixed to form a catchy favourite heartbreaking track. 

Here, I’d like to share the story of my introduction to this song and how it became so personal for me .

 Few months ago, I was travelling to somewhere (let me mintain the suspense) . It was a night travel, I was going by bus and was sitting on the window seat with my headphones on.(Yes, the perfect location for deep introspections. ) 

I played channa mereya randomly on an app.  It was on top charts then and instantly, I loved the song too. I played it again, again and again . Then, it just got played on a loop itself. I guess for more than couple of hours, I continued listening to this song and at that time I guess , channa mereya entered inside me. (I am a musician, I soak music)

Later on, that journey got fruitful.  I got to spend one of the best days of my life and this song became an inseperable part of that memory. 

Now, even  after months, it still feels good whenever I listen to this song. Whenever we perform it live, I feel nostalgic. I am taken back to that journey. I feel myself sitting on that window seat and yes.. some other memories as well. (human mind runs fast, it never stops at one memory ) 

And how can I forget mentioning these lines .. Kisse hamare nazdikiyo ke kam to nahi hain…!! Let me admit now,  I wasn’t on a normal trip that night, I was going to meet someone.(blushing and smiling continues… ) 

Check our youtube channel at- Nishchay.

Follow me on facebook – 
http://www.facebook.com/pranaydwivedioffical

One thought on “Channa Mereya.. How it became one of my all time favourite songs. 

Add yours

  1. I think that this song has power to hypnotize or something. I mean how can any song be like this.

    P.s. Log sahi kehte hn. Arijit can make you remember the ex girlfriend that you never had.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

