Phir le aaya dil, BARFI and Nostalgia 

I love giving music lessons. Firstly, it feels good to share what you love that much to people who are excited about it and secondly, it gives me amazing oppportunities to remind myself of songs I used to play, the stories I’ve shared with music ( every song has a a story you know). 

Yesterday, one of my students asked me to play “phir le aaya dil”, from the movie “Barfi”.  I played, he noted down, and left, and I was left with flashbacks. 

Barfi, 2012 was a special movie for me. I was super excited for it but the time it was released in theatres was of our exams, September 2012. They were preboards or something like that. So eventually, none of my friends agreed. I was single as well. Lol. 

I don’t deny watching it. Barfi is the only movie till now that I watched without anyone. I must be 15 or 16 then, idiotic teen.  I lied at home, went solo, took 1 ticket, watched the movie and came back home. 

Movie was definitely one of the most memorable one. Everything was just perfect. Ileana became the crush. Ranbir became the favourite actor after SRK., and barfi’s soundtrack became love. 

I used to sing in school and remember singing this one for a friend of mine in chemistry lab.  After years, yesterday, I sang, this time on guitar (I learnt instrument after school) and yes, I felt that overflow of nostalgia. 

Phir le aaya dil is a song about words that remained unsaid, mistakes that were done in past and now the destiny is again making two people stand in front of each other. Its time to amend the situation and make things better. Its time for love.

Its time for love. 

“Phir le aaya dil, majboor kya kije

Raas na aaya rehna door, kya kije ” 

5 thoughts on “Phir le aaya dil, BARFI and Nostalgia 

Add yours

  1. Really nice post.
    Made me nostalgic. Barfi was the last movie I saw. 😛(I know you’ll think I’m a bore, I agree). My cousin was so excited to see the movie that she pulled all of us. But yeah, I’m glad she did. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

