Dil ke chaalon ko – Devdas. 

Dil ke chaalon ko koi shayari kahe toh parwah nahi 

Takleef toh tab hoti hai jab koi wah wah karta hai. 

I’m blank today. I know you’ll understand this word. You write. 

When I shut my eyes, all I see is darkness.. A horrifying darkness that is able to produce goosebumps on skin. 

But few hours ago, something happened that made me remember Shahrukh Khan. Something that happens quite often. 

I updated a status on my whatsapp, which said 

It started with chirping of sparrows 

And ended with vultures eating flesh. 

Obviously, I was not in a smiling mood and few moments later, a friend of mine praised the words.

I couldn’t feel anything.  I couldn’t react. 

I was not writing some verse. I was writing life. My life. 

And being a Shahrukh fan, instantly I remembered this dialogue from movie Devdas, 


Dil ke chaalon ko koi shayari kahe toh parwah nahi.

 Takleef toh tab hoti hai jab koi wah wah karta hai. 

Roughly translated as,  ‘it doesn’t matter when someone names my wounds as “poetry”.  But it hurts a lot when someone applauses them.’ 

And, its true.

7 thoughts on “Dil ke chaalon ko – Devdas. 

Add yours

      1. Are you serious? Is this your first one.? Wow, I thought you must have been nominated for every award before..Anyways, you truly deserve it. I would really love to read your answers. ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

