And That’s how I learned poetry 

Following her steps, I walked

On ice and on lava. 

Frozen for a second, melting for another.

Freezing, melting, breaking

Dying, loving, living.

My feet were dead

My words were dry

Life evaporated through my pores.

And I gleamed with golden tears.  

The sky used to be grey then, grey like ashes

And purple clouds stained the sky

The wind kept singing a lament of death.

A lament of my own death. For love is my name. 

And love was going to get crucified. 

I was following her step by step.

Calling her name, begging her to stop. 

She kept walking toward oblivion 

I followed

I followed 

Like a lost child

I did everything I could. 

I wrote verses, poems and epics for her but she didn’t stop.

She didn’t stop. 

Not for a second.

She didn’t turn back. 

I died. 

And that’s how I learned poetry…

9 thoughts on “And That’s how I learned poetry 

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑